Ukraine announces DTT winners

Ukraine’s National Council for Television and Radio Broadcasting (NTVCU) has chosen the winners of the tender for the 28 channels that will be carried on the country’s first four DTT multiplexes, reports Broadband TV News.
According to Interfax-Ukraine, they include TRK (ICTV), Novy Channel, Teleodyn (M-1, M-2), Studio 1+1, Tet TV company, Kino-TV and the private joint stock company International Media Center (STB).
Among the others are K-2, Ukrainian Independent TV Corporation (Inter), NVM TRK (Fifth Channel), NKTU (First National Channel), Tonis, Mega, Muzyka TV, Information Service TV Studio (NTN Channel) and Musical Television (MTV Ukraine).
TRK Ukraina secured licences for all three of its channels (Ukraina, Kinotochka and NLO-TV), while the Russian broadcaster ORT failed in its bid to land a licence for a localised version of its service.
The NTVCU received a total of 59 bids from 54 companies for carriage on the multiplexes (MX-1, MX-2, MX-3 and MX-5), which will be operated by Zeonbud.
Source: Broadband TV News
Item added: 22nd August 2011