Spain introduces new regional DTT channels

Spain’s Northern region of Cantabria has allocated licences for the broadcast of local DTT channels, reports Rapid TV News.
The region has been divided in to nine DTT areas and nine companies bid for the licences but only seven companies were successful.
The original DTT licence allocation was delayed because the regional government considered the first bid to be closed since none of the companies who bid were considered economically stable. The government now seems to believe that the new bidders will succeed and as a result Cantabria’s population will soon receive five new DTT local channels.
Source: Rapid TV News
Item added: 21st August 2010