Seven HD licences for DTT

The Radio och TV Verket (RTVV) has authorised the broadcasting of 7 HD channels on the countries DTT system, according to Broadband TV News. In all 11 new national channels have been licensed as well as one local channel.
The HD licences have gone to; Canal + HD Mix (C More Entertainment AB), Kanal 5 HD (SBS Broadcasting Networks Limited), MTVN HD (MTV Networks Europe), National Geographic Channel HD (NGC Europe Limited), TV3 HD (Viasat Broadcasting UK Limited), TV4 HD (TV4 AB) and Viasat Sport HD (Viasat Broadcasting UK Limited)
The four new standard definition channels are; Canal + Series (C More Entertainment AB), Cartoon Network (Turner Entertainment Network International Limited), Eurosport 2 (Eurosport Société Anonyme) and Viasat Fotboll (Viasat Broadcasting UK Limited).
Local channel 24.UNT (Upsala Nya Tidning) completes the number of new licence holders.
The new licences will run from the 1st July 2010 to the 3rd March 2014 and the first on-air signals are expected in the autumn.
All the channels will broadcast using MPEG-4 and are expected to be a mix of free and pay.
Public broadcaster SVT has also been granted permission to run two additional HD channels.
Source: Broadband TV News
Item added: 21st June 2010