Sejm approves DTT law

Poland’s parliament, the Sejm, has voted through the new DTT law and most of the 11 amendments required by the Polish Senate, which where preventing its progress to law.
The publicly owned TVP and other broadcasters will operate the countries first DTT multiplex.
TVP and the country’s four main commercial broadcasters Polsat, TVN, Polskie Media and TV Puls must all participate in a campaign on digitisation.
Poland’s second and third multiplexes were launched late last year, while its first multiplex, which will carry a mix of TVP and new commercial channels, is due to launch imminently.
The confirmed analogue switch off date is the 31st July 2013.
Source: Broadband TV News
Item added: 4th July 2011