Regional Victoria completes switch to digital-only TV

The Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy, has announced that the region of Victoria has completed its switch to digital-only free-to-air-television broadcasting using the DVB-T standard.
“Around 455,000 households in regional Victoria now receive digital-only TV following the shutdown of analogue television signals,” Senator Conroy said.
Analogue TV broadcasting commenced in regional Victoria in 1961 and ended at nine o’clock on the 5th May 2011 when analogue services from 66 transmitter sites were switched off for good.
“Regional Victoria is the largest area making the switchover to date, following on from Mildura/Sunraysia on the 30th June last year, and areas of regional South Australia and Broken Hill in December 2010,” Senator Conroy said.
Around 25,000 households have been converted to digital TV through the Government’s Household Assistance Scheme, which provides eligible households with the supply, installation and demonstration of a high definition set top box.
Regional Queensland is the next region to switchover to digital only TV, on the 6th December 2011.
Source: Ministry website
Item added: 16th May 2011