Progress on Common Set-top Box Specification for Southeast Asia

Information ministers from ten Southeast Asian nations have reaffirmed their commitment to a joint regional approach to the development of digital broadcasting. In particular they welcomed and endorsed the establishment of a Task Force to work towards the formulation of a common technical specification for set-top boxes

It was acknowledged, however, that cooperation in this area would need to take into account the different states of broadcasting infrastructure and the economic development of and financial implications for some members countries. A joint statement was issued following the Eighth Conference of the ASEAN Ministers Responsible for Information which took place in Phnom Penh, Cambodia on October 7th and 8th.

The ASEAN organisation consists of the following nations: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. DVB-T services are on air in Singapore, whilst Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand all have trials in progress.