Freeview launch in January 2009

A consortium of broadcasters has just been formed to drive forward the new Australian Freeview service planned for launch in January 2009. The consortium consists of both public service and commercial broadcasters and has been created to help drive the take up of the free-to-air digital terrestrial television platform.
Members of the consortium include ABC, SBS, the Seven Network, the Nine Network, Network Ten, Prime, WIN and Southern Cross.
From early 2009 next year the free-to-air network will broadcast one new SD channel from each broadcaster as well as its existing SD channel. In all 15 channels are expected to be available on the new platform. The Freeview platform will continue to use the MPEG-2 compression standard.
Source: DTG website
Item added: 21st July 2008