DTT network coverage to reach 86%

Broadcasting Minister Jonathan Coleman today announced free-to-air high definition digital television, also known as Freeview HD, will be available terrestrially (by UHF aerial) to an extra 160,000 homes in time for the Rugby World Cup.
The Government is extending the existing digital terrestrial television (DTT) service to Whangarei, Rotorua, Gisborne, Taupo, New Plymouth, Whanganui, Wairarapa, Nelson, Timaru and Invercargill.
The decision to expand the DTT network means that over 86% of the population will be able to receive these high definition television signal using a UHF aerial by September 2011, up from the present 75%.
Digital switchover will be phased starting with Hawke’s Bay and the West Coast in September 2012. The rest of the country will switch over in three stages between April and November 2013.
Source: Telecompaper
Item added: 28th March 2012