Digital switchover in Sweden

Sweden is nearly half way through its main transmitter switch off programme. Already, 23 out of a total of 54 transmitters have stopped their analogue television broadcasts and complete analogue switch off is expected by November 2007. Network operator Teracom has already conducted trials for high-definition television (HDTV) and mobile television using the DVB-H standard; two services which may be made available to viewers in the next two years when spectrum is released by the analogue switch off.
Digital switchover status
5 multiplexes on air offering viewers 10 free-to-air and 27 pay-DTT services in addition to regional programming.
DTT coverage now 98% of the population with coverage increasing to 99.8% by early 2008 (for public service broadcasts).
  Analogue switch-off has been taking place on a region-by-region basis since September 2005.
Stage 1: September – December 2005: Gotland, Gävle and Motala/Linköping
Stage 2: February – May 2006: Kisa, Norrköping, Uppsala, Västerås, Östhammar, Bolinäs, Borlänge, Hudiksvall, Mora
Stage 3: November 2006: Boräs, Emmaboda, Finnveden, Halmstad, Jönköping, Nässjö, Skövde, Varberg, Vislanda, Västervik
Stage 4: March – May 2007: Stockholm, Sollefteå, Sundsvall, Sveg, Tåsjö, Ånge, Örnsköldsvik, Östersund, Arvidsjaur, Gällivare, Kalix, Kiruna, Pajala, Älvsbyn, Överkalix Stage 5: September – October 2007: Filipstad, Karlstad, Lycksele, Skellefteå, Storuman, Sunne, Vännäs, Bäckefors, Göteborg, Trollhättan, Uddevalla, Helsingborg, Hörby, Karlshamn, Karlskrona, Malmö
The first three stages of the process have been completed. Switch-off in the three largest Swedish cities, Stockholm, Gothenburg and Malmö, is expected later this year.
Source: DigiTAG Webletter
Item added: 16th January 2007