Considering terrestrial UHD options at NAB 2018

NAB 2018 takes place in Las Vegas from 7 to 12 April. DVB will be represented by Head of Technology Peter Siebert, who will speak at the Broadcast Engineering and Information Technology Conference on Monday 9 April at 15h20. He will also meet with several DVB Members and external partners in the standards community.

UHD options

For his contribution to the NAB conference, Dr Siebert will consider the best approach to delivering UHD services over terrestrial networks. The considerable additional bandwidth required to deliver 4k resolution means that, at least in the context of terrestrial delivery, one attractive option could be to stick with HD resolution, but add other UHD features such as high frame rate, high dynamic range, wider colour gamut or next generation audio. 

Several organisations providing specifications and guidelines for UHD, including DVB and the UHD Forum, specify the combination of HD resolution with HDR and wider colour gamut explicitly in their UHD documents. The presentation will analyse the quality of experience gains of the individual UHD features for the end user as well as the associated effort for broadcasters and network operators, with a special focus on 4k resolution.

Meet with Peter

Peter Siebert will represent DVB at the Future of Broadcast Television Initiative meeting. FOBTV is a not-for-profit association aimed at developing technologies for next-generation terrestrial broadcasting systems and making recommendations to standardisation organizations around the world. DVB is a founding member of the initiative.

Several DVB Members will exhibit at NAB 2018 and all are encouraged to display their DVB Member plaque. Anyone wishing to arrange a meeting with Peter Siebert during NAB 2018 can contact him by email ( or SMS (+41 79 688 26 65).

DVB Members at NAB 2018

We are aware of the following DVB Members exhibiting at NAB. (Booth number in parentheses.)

  • Alticast Corporation, (SU10006CM)
  • Appear TV, (SU6110)
  • ARRIS, (SU2615)
  • ATEME, (SU3710)
  • b-com, (N2333FP)
  • Broadpeak, (SU10801CM)
  • Cisco, (SU8502CM)
  • DekTec Digital Video B.V., (SU6717)
  • Dolby Laboratories, (SU1702)
  • ENENSYS Technologies, (SU6521)
  • Ericsson, (SU720)
  • Eurofins Digital Testing, (Renaissance Hotel)
  • Eutelsat, (SU3421)
  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, (SU4916)
  • Globecast, (SU11406CM)
  • Harmonic Inc., (SU810)
  • HISPASAT, (SU7825)
  • Institut für Rundfunktechnik GmbH, (C7933)
  • Intel Corporation, (SU3110, S208LMR , S209LMR)
  • Kathrein, (C1919)
  • Microsoft Corporation, (SL6716)
  • NEC, (SL10621)
  • Nevion, (SU5510)
  • Newtec, (SU1516)
  • NexGuard, Kudelski Group, (SU3424)
  • NovelSat, (SU10417)
  • Oracle, (S109LMR)
  • Panasonic System Communications Co., (C3607, SL5516, N207LMR, N209LMR, N211LMR, N212LMR)
  • Qarva, (SU10206CM)
  • Qualcomm Technologies Inc., (N214LMR)
  • Progira, (C2613)
  • Rohde & Schwarz, (SL6610)
  • Samsung Electronics America, (SU4405)
  • SES, (SU2010)
  • Sharp Electronics, (C3118)
  • Sony Electronics Inc., (C11001)
  • SPINNER, (C2030)
  • TELEVES, (SU11921)
  • Thomson Broadcast, (SU6525)
  • Verance, (N1124)
  • Verimatrix, Inc., (SU7120)