Bavaria completes switch to DTT

Bavaria will complete its transition to DTT service on the 25th November when the last digital replacement transmitters are officially put on air. After the launch 90% of Bavarians will be able to receive DTT services.
Initially only public service broadcasts will be available on the platform but this is likely to change as DTT becomes established.
Germany is a highly cabled country and terrestrial reception is by no means the major means of TV delivery at present.
The public service channel line up consists of 12 channels, Das Erste, ZDF, Bayerisches Fernsehen, BR-alpha, 3sat, PHOENIX, arte, EinsPlus, Kika, hr-fernsehen, MDR, ZDFdokukanal and ZDFinfokanal. In some areas only 10 programmes are available.
Main source: Broadband TV News
Item added: 30th September 2008